LEED or Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design, is a green building certification program that recognizes best-in-class building strategies and practices across the globe.  This certification has and continues to transform how buildings and communities are designed, constructed, maintained and operated. LEED standards and certification makes financial sense, saves resources (long and short term), and positively impacts human health and the environment.

To receive LEED certification, building projects satisfy prerequisites and earn points to achieve different levels of certification. Prerequisites and credits differ for each rating system, and teams choose the best fit for their project.space-shuttle-atlantis-nasa-fl-2014-6

There are four levels of certification – the number of points a project earns determines the level of LEED certification that the project will receive.

PLATINUM = 80+ Points

GOLD = 60-79 Points

SILVER = 50-59 Points

CERTIFIED = 40-49 Points

LEED has five rating systems that address a variety of projects:

Within each of the credit categories, there are specific prerequisites projects must satisfy and a variety of credits projects can pursue to earn points. The number of points the project earns determines its level of LEED certification.


  •  Integrative Process
  • Location and Transportation
  • Materials and Resources
  • Water Efficiency
  • Energy and Atmosphere
  • Sustainable Sites
  • Indoor Environmental Quality
  • Innovation
  • Regional Priority
  • Smart location & linkage
  • Neighborhood Pattern & Design
  • Green Infrastructure & Buildings


LEED continues to evolve and improve over time and today, in 2015, v4 is the newest and improved version.  LEED v4 address: material content and the effect on human health and the environment, performance based approach of indoor environmental quality for occupant comfort, smart grid and demand response programs, and water efficiency by evaluating total building water use.

Delaware North parks and resorts proudly have achieved and continues to seek LEED certified projects by building for the future.

Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex (KSCVC): LEED Silver Certification

Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite: LEED Silver Certification

In Progress: Seeking LEED

  • KSCVC: Shuttle Atlantis

Upcoming Projects: Seeking LEED

  • Tenaya Lodge Wastewater Treatment Plant
  • Kings Canyon
  • Grand Canyon